Indian Selection committee announced the 15 men Indian Squad for the much awaited  2019 ICC World Cup, a couple of days before. Virat Kohli was named as the Indian Captain and Rohit Sharma as the Deputy. While looking at the 15 men squad, Top order batsmen look solid. Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan would open the innings, with the Captain dropping behind as one down. The No. 4 spot looks a bit cheeky with either Vijay Shankar or Kedhar Jadhav taking that place.

MS Dhoni is undoubtedly the best finisher the world has ever seen. Every Indian Fan would remember that winning six he struck in a crucial moment during the 2011 World Cup Final, to lift the World Cup for the second time. No. 5 is reserved for him. Hardik Pandya would definitely get the No. 6 spot as a batting all-rounder. With his six hitting ability and his form in IPL, the batting order of Indian Team looks Strong and complete. Ravindra Jadeja would most likely be at No. 7 as a bowling all-rounder.

Yuzvendra Chahal would probably be the only spinner in the Indian lineup due to his variations and spin. Mohammed Shami, Bhuvaneswar Kumar and Jaspirt Bumrah would be the three pacers in the playing 11. The bowling too looks solid with Kuldeep Yadav in the bench. Since the England pitches wouldn’t spin much, it is tricky to have two spinners in the playing 11. Hence Kuldeep would warm the benches until mid of the tournament, when the pitches become a bit dry and start to spin.

The Playing 11 is Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Kedhar Jadhav, MS Dhoni(wk), Vijay Shankar, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvaneswar Kumar, Mohamed Shami, and Dinesh Karthik(wk). Will team India lift the World Cup for the third time with this squad?


image source: ICC 

cover image source: DNA INDIA